Document Versioning

Document Versioning

Track and manage information over time with versioning in your document library. View and recover previous versions from the item’s history. Restoring older versions of a file can be especially useful when unapproved or unwanted changes have been made to the file and it needs to be returned to a previous state.

When enabled, new versions are added to an item’s history after changes are saved. The number of versions stored and the visibility of draft or minor versions can be modified for each library.

  • Versioning will be enabled in your communities’ document library.  A new version will be created each time a resource in this document library is edited.

To View, Restore, or Delete an earlier version in a library

To restore an earlier version of a document, follow these steps.

  • Go to the document library within your community.

Click the ellipses () next to the item for which you want to view history

Click Version History.

If you don’t see Version History, click the more, and then click Version History.

  • In the Version History dialog box, hover your mouse over the date link on an earlier version and click the down arrow to show the menu.

  • In the menu, you can select one of the following: view, restore, or delete.

View the current document. This will bring up a dialog where you can edit, restore, or delete, as well as see the current approval status.

      • Restore the document. This option displays a dialog asking if you want to make it the currently approved document. It will add it as a new version.
      • Delete the document. This option displays a dialog asking if you’re sure you want to send the item to the Recycle Bin.

When you’re done, click the X in the upper right

 

Categories

SMART Agent
SMART Agent X